In the state of Massachusetts, you are required to obtain auto insurance in order to register your car. Your insurance policy must contain certain minimum coverages. Below is a summary of the Minimum requirements for MA auto insurance and other helpful information.
Minimum Requirements for MA Auto Insurance
Bodily Injury to Others
This covers injury to other people involved in an accident for which you are at fault. MA law requires you to have coverage of $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident.
Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
Personal injury protection covers medical expenses, lost wages, and other related bills for you and your passengers. Unlike Bodily Injury coverage, PIP applies regardless of who may be at fault. Since fault is not an issue, coverage and payments can often be received sooner than other type of insurance coverages. You are required to have PIP in the amount of $8,000 per person, per accident.
Bodily Injury Caused by an Uninsured Auto
Although Massachusetts requires auto insurance for its drivers, other states might not. You may therefore encounter uninsured drivers visiting from other states or while you are driving through another state. This insurance covers bodily injury caused by those drivers, since they don’t have insurance coverage of their own. It includes medical expenses, lost wages, and even pain and suffering. You are required to have coverage of $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident.
Damage to Someone Else’s Property
In addition to coverage for personal injuries, you must also have coverage for damage to someone else’s property. This would apply if you crashed into someone’s fence (or even their house). The required minimum is $5,000 per accident.
What Isn’t Required for MA Auto Insurance
Now that you know what is required, it’s equally important to note what isn’t required. Nowhere in the list above is there mention of collision coverage. So, if you are in an accident, the state requires that you have coverage for personal injuries and damage that you may cause to someone’s property. You are not required to cover damages to your own vehicle. However, if you purchased your car with a loan, your lender will likely require collision coverage to protect their investment. Additionally, if you cannot bear the burden of a complete loss of your vehicle, you should consider purchasing collision coverage.
On a final note, it often makes sense to purchase more than the minimum insurance requirements noted above. Medical expenses tend to be very high. If you have insufficient coverage, you could be held liable for the difference. For most, this would be extremely burdensome. Consider the small added cost of increasing your coverage limits for the different categories noted above. Contact Eagle Trust Insurance for a free quote!